TENANTS or TENETS?

TENANT: One that pays rent to use or occupy land, a building, or other property owned by another. Plural: TENANTS.

TENET: An opinion, doctrine, or principle held as being true by a person or especially by an organization. Plural: TENETS.

Do not confuse the two. You do not charge your tenets rent. You do not teach others about your religion’s tenants.

How to remember which is which? “I was talking to my landlord and he said one of the other tenants saw ten ants.” TEN + ANTS = TENANTS

Read it.
Remember it.
Live it.

7 thoughts on “TENANTS or TENETS?

  1. You do not teach others about your religions tenants.

    Actually, you could, presuming those religious tenants had authored insightful papers about religious tenets.

      • Ah. Yes. I should note – when I was in high school, so many ages ago, we sometimes had the “True or False, and if False why questions”.

        I was the student who would sometimes answer “False, but only because of comma placement”. Mostly because I was that kind of snot. Teachers did not always have patience for this…

      • My favorite are College levle True/False questions without “Why?” questions written by “English” as a third or fourth language teachers.

        You HOPE you parse their sentences correctly and use the right meanings for the words. If scantrons are not involved, I’ll write why anyway.

        IMarv

  2. Hi, Mr. Belief in Creationism. I’m afraid the rent here in my psyche has gone way up, since you opted not to sign a contact back in the 1990s.

    At this point, I’m going to need to see $1,200 a month, or have you out by the end of the month. I have a Ms. Rationalism looking the place over.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

