25 Random Things About Me

Crossposted from Facebook….

(All the kids are doing it, it must be cool.)

1. I have four cats, which makes me a crazy cat person. It was much less so when my (now ex-)girlfriend and I lived together and we could say *we* have four cats.
2. I have such a sweet tooth that if my preference were for heroin instead of sugar I probably would have been dead by age 30.
3. I have never broken any of my bones.
4. It appears the only things I’m allergic to are bug bites, and massively so.
5. I give until it hurts, and then some, and then some more.
6. I am a good cook, I just don’t often have the opportunity to show it.
7. I have taken one drag on one cigarette in my entire life, and drank most of a pitcher of beer trying to wash the taste out of my mouth.
8. Cindi Rice has been present for 66% of all of my incidents of vomiting in the 12 years that I’ve known her. Perhaps she is provoking them?
9. I’ve been a lacto-ovo vegetarian for about 17 years, not counting a handful of slipups.
10. Despite #9, I know how to catch, gut, and clean a fish, as well as cook it (see #6).
11. Rarely a day goes by that I don’t think about how, in the past, I have hurt others.
12. I’m really good at keeping secrets. But you might want to tell me it’s a secret.
13. Despite an outgoing personality and the ability to shamelessly talk to total strangers, I have no idea how to tell if a woman is interested in me enough that I should ask her out.
14. I believe in mercy killings.
15. I have a fantastic memory, except for directions and names.
16. I’m sort of blind in one eye. That’s the short explanation, the long one isn’t really interesting.
17. I tend to tell long, wandering, pointless stories, even if you were there when the subject of the story happened.
18. More than once, I have been depressed enough that for a time I felt the only possible solutions to my problems were either suicide or winning the lottery.
19. I joke that I’m “90% gay” … I don’t like cars or sports, but I’m sensitive and nice, and I like cute animals, musicals, cooking, singing, and dancing. But I’m not attracted to men, and that’s pretty much the deciding factor.
20. I never get writer’s block, but I often find other things I’d rather do than write.
21. I believe in freedom, beauty, truth, and love.
22. I am a machine when there is trouble or an emergency.
23. I have insomnia.
24. I rarely drink alcohol, mainly because I don’t like it that much.
25. I have a tattoo of the Native American raven-spirit (a symbol of wisdom and healing), though it is faded and I need to get it touched up.

8 thoughts on “25 Random Things About Me

  1. #19 – You and me both, my ex always called it a flaming heterosexual, in that I’m flamboyant, enjoy some of the oddest things, have some of the most unusual habits, yet am so obviously addicted to the female that it’s not funny.

    As for #17, I’ll go for irony and say “No comment.”

Leave a Reply

