more Republican hypocrisy about adultery

Senator John Ensign (R-NV) about the Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal:
[It’s] “an embarrassing moment for the country.” “I think we have to feel very sad for the American people and Hillary and Chelsea.” [Clinton should resign;] “I came to that conclusion recently, and frankly it’s because of what he put his whole Cabinet through and what he has put the country through,” he was quoted saying at the time. “He has no credibility left.” (link)

Fast-forward to today: “Last year I had an affair [with a married woman]. I violated the vows of my marriage,” Ensign said at a brief news conference. “It is the worst thing I have ever done in my life. If there was ever anything in my life that I could take back, this would be it.” (link)

I don’t care whether he had an affair or not. That’s between him, his family, and the family of the married woman he had an affair with.
What I can’t stand is the hypocrisy of blasting someone else for adultery, then being an adulterer yourself.

13 thoughts on “more Republican hypocrisy about adultery

  1. I am curious why you felt it necessary to point out that Mr. Ensign was Republican. Does it really matter which party he belongs to? Both are equally corrupt and both are full of hypocrites. If he’s a jerk, he’s a jerk. His political officiation has nothing to do with that. What gets me is why the democrats and republicans can’t seem to figure that out.

    • You’re right in that he’s not a jerk because he’s Republican. He’s a jerk who just happens to be Republican. But the fact that he’s Republican is relevant.

      The entire Clinton-Lewinsky thing was beat to death (several times over) by the Republicans and since Ensign was one of those doing the beating, I believe Sean is right to point that out in this case.

      Here’s another quote from the article in the first link –
      “In fact, not only did Ensign envision the Lewinksy affair as a political boon for Republicans, he actively made it an issue in his campaign against Reid.”

      So Ensign actively pursued one Democrat (Reid) based on his response to another Democrat’s (Clinton’s) mistake, because he thought it was a good campaign tactic. If Ensign had been independent, green party, or anything other than Republican, he would have been forced to campaign on the issues, not slander.

    • What sariah and jagyr said (I’ve fixed a missing /italics tag in my original post that makes my comment at the end more obvious that it’s not part of the original two stories).

      It’s one thing to get your hand caught in the cookie jar. It’s another thing entirely if your political party claims the moral high ground about stealing cookies, blasts political opponents for their cookie-stealing, try to score votes because of said opponential cookie-stealing… and then you get caught with your hand in the cookie jar anyway.

      Trust me, I’m not pro-adultery for some obvious reasons (but if someone cheats on their spouse, it’s not my business unless I’m said spouse or it directly affects someone I know). I am anti-hypocrisy, and this guy is a hypocrite because of his and his party’s actions and stance on this issue.

      • Yes.
        The guy who rails against abortion shouldn’t pressure his mistress get an abortion.
        The guy who rails against political pork shouldn’t get caught accepting it.
        The guy who rails against adulterers shouldn’t commit adultery.

  2. That’s not really hypocrisy. In that second statement, he was blasting Clinton not for *having* an affair, but for perjuring himself.

    Most cheaters will still sympathise with people who’ve been cheated on.

Leave a Reply

