My dad, Charles E. Reynolds, 1939-2010


A few weeks ago my dad started having problems with his abdomen. Last week he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. He was scheduled to go to the oncologist today, but my mom found him unconscious this morning, and they weren’t able to resuscitate him at the hospital. He died around noon today.

I don’t have much to say about it at this point. I’m glad he got to see Keri and JD get married in 2008. I’m glad he got to meet Jodi, and the two of them were very close (he was like a second Dad to her, and she calls him “Deedle”). I wish he would have been able to visit up in Seattle at our new place with Keri and JD.

My dad served in the National Guard. He painted Napoleonic soldiers. He played the bagpipes. He played D&D with me, and later with Keri. He was funny, and I’m sure I got my habit of retelling stories from him.

He is survived by my brother Jeff, myself, my sister Keri, my mother Lynda, and his brother Bob, plus two foreign exchange student daughters my Mom and Dad hosted a few years ago.

I’ll miss you, Dad.

21 thoughts on “My dad, Charles E. Reynolds, 1939-2010

  1. I’m sorry, man… there’s never anything to say, except that your dad sounds like an awesome guy (and you clearly get your sense of style from him :).

    Take care of yourself, and let me know if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

