Sean’s Common PRD Links

common PRD links screenshot

As a designer and developer, I have to look up a lot of information in the rules. For me, it’s usually faster to jump to Paizo’s PRD (Pathfinder RPG Reference Document), an online indexed html reference of all their core books, than to grab a specific book and page to what I’m looking for.

To make it even easier for me to navigate, I created a chunk of html with hotlinks to each class, the skill index, the feat indexes for each book, the spell lists for each book, the monster lists for the first three Bestiaries, and so on. And I even added similar links to the 3.5 SRD, just so I could make a comparison to an older version of the rule.

And I made that page my browser’s home page, so I can quickly access it.

I’ve posted earlier versions of it before, but it’s been about a year since I updated it. The newest version is linked (it’s a ZIP file of just my simple html file), so download it and unzip it, Then bookmark the resulting html file, and you’ll have a handy index for several often-used parts of the Pathfinder RPG rules.

I hope it’s helpful to you as a player, GM, designer, developer, or editor. Enjoy!

SKRcommonPRDlinks

7 thoughts on “Sean’s Common PRD Links

  1. I like the idea. I’ll probably make my own though, and use d20pfsrd.com as a reference instead, on account of it merging information from lots of books in one place. That is, instead of having to comb through the wizard spell list from the core book, ultimate magic, ultimate combat, and whatever other book has spells in it, I get all the wizard spells in one place.

    • See, I specifically don’t use d20pfsrd for this for two reasons.
      1) Because they format their stat blocks a little bit differently than Paizo does, and if I’m creating a spell similar to spell X, I need to know that if I copy X from the PRD, paste it into a Word doc, and make changes, I don’t have to worry that the spell stat block has extra stuff in it (like the CASTING and EFFECT separator lines, which aren’t part of Paizo’s style). In fact, I can spot a freelancer who uses the d20pfsrd instead of the PRD because of mistakes like that.
      2) Because I primarily work on the PF core line, I can’t refer to books outside the core line. So if I’m creating a new spell and it works like something from Inner Sea World Guide, I can’t just say “This functions like [spellname].” In other words, if it’s not in the PRD, I know I can’t just cite it, I have to repost it in its entirety.

      • Those are all great points. I usually use my Core Rulebook / Advanced Player’s Guide directly when I can help it. Gives my eyes a rest from the computer screen, plus the artwork is pretty.

        It’s also pretty cool that from this preference I can flip to (almost) any rule in any one of my sourcebooks and be within 5 pages of whatever answer I’m looking for. Muscle memory, man. Human body’s an incredible thing. ;-)

      • Good points, from the point of view of someone who actually writes for the game. From the point of view of a player though, I still think I’ll go with d20PFSRD.

      • Honestly, I prefer the d20 website, largely because the d20 incorporates the FAQs and the PRD doesn’t. I also like the fact that the d20 website has lots of useful little tips and stuff on it. For example, posting tables referenced by other spells (Detect Evil table in all of the Detect spells), or sometimes they spot errors in the rules and recommend a correction. As an example, see Glorious Heat (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/glorious-heat) which was mistakenly reprinted in it’s broken form in Inner Sea Gods. For an example from the PRD, I suggest looking up the Ring of Continuation which is still in it’s broken form as printed in Ultimate Equipment last time I checked. I’d link to it, but the website is down at the moment.

        For me, I use the d20 website because it is more correct than the PRD; I imagine that’s only due to the policy of reprinting the books exactly as they are, and not incorporating the FAQs.

  2. Pingback: Update to Common PRD links post | Sean K Reynolds

Leave a Reply

