Secret Project Revealed: Sean’s Writing an RPG, codename “Project Pentagon”

Earlier today on the Gen Con livestream podcast, I announced my big upcoming project: I’m designing a fantasy RPG and will be kickstarting it late this September.
Currently codenamed Project Pentagon, its play style will be familiar to fans of D&D and the Pathfinder RPG, but colored by my experiences in the tabletop, card, and video game industry over the past 19 years. My goals for this game are:
* Make a game that is easy to read, understand, and reference, like the Pathfinder RPG Beginner Box (a product I am very proud of).
* Make characters less dependent upon their gear to survive and succeed.
* Create a longer play experience in the leveling “sweet spot” (the D&D/PF equivalent of level 6 to level 12).
* Allow characters to level more frequently so they don’t remain exactly the same for many game sessions.
* Elevate martial characters to have parity with spellcasters, but still maintain fun and distinct flavor for each class.
* Reward roleplaying, adventuring, and social interaction instead of focusing on damage output in combat.
One of the reasons I had a kickstarter campaign for Goody White’s Book of Folk Magic is because I wanted to do a small project and learn the ins and outs of Kickstarter. As that project was over 200% funded, I consider that a success, and I plan to take the lessons I learned from that campaign and apply them to this one.
Please stay tuned here on my blog, my Facebook fan page, and my Twitter account for more information about Project Pentagon. Thank you very much for your support and I look forward to sharing news about my new game over the next few months.
Project Pentagon cover sketch by Gerald Lee

Project Pentagon cover sketch by Gerald Lee

32 thoughts on “Secret Project Revealed: Sean’s Writing an RPG, codename “Project Pentagon”

  1. It would take a lot to pull me from Pathfinder right now (and I say “pull me from” as I really have time/resources for one RPG in my life.) But I am interested in all of the components listed above that you intend to fix … er … improve upon. I would likely back said project in any case.

    In addition to what you wrote above, I would also like to see more combat options … currently most melee classes have one best option each round (with maybe the option of triggering their limited resources). I would like to see more maneuvers, blocks/parries, movement, using items in the environment … more cinematic and interesting melee.

  2. Sure hope I have some funds that I can use to back this project! I like the sounds of it and I know you do quality work.

  3. well this is very exciting, i do hope its ogl because i wouldn’t mind doing some 3pp for a system like this.

  4. With those lofty goals, I can’t wait to learn more about it. The big downside is that my group, who only been gaming for a couple of years, are still learning the ends and out of Pathfinder. They’re resistant to trying new games, even if the premise interests them. Regardless, I’ll make sure I got cash in my pocket for when September rolls around!

  5. My group is always looking for new games to at least try out, and I have appreciated your work for some time now—if nothing else, we’re always willing to poach ideas from different game systems to incorporate into whatever we’re currently playing. Did you ever work on, or take a look at Mike Mearls’ “Iron Heroes”? I thought it was an interesting take on a low-magic, low-dependence on items -type system…

  6. Pingback: Learning Spells vs. Learning Fighting Styles | Sean K Reynolds

  7. Pingback: Project Pentagon: The Leveling “Sweet Spot” | Sean K Reynolds

  8. * Elevate martial characters to have parity with spellcasters, but still maintain fun and distinct flavor for each class.

    I don’t understand. Fighters have full BAB and way more damage than a wizard could ever hope to do. Why exactly would one of the most powerful classes need to be “elevated”?

  9. Pingback: Project Pentagon: Crossbows and Not-Earth’s Physics | Sean K Reynolds

  10. The only thing I can think of that would have me more interested in your new project than I already am is if you had Nick Logue on board!

    Why don’t you give him a call!

  11. Pingback: Project Pentagon: Crossbows and Not-Earth’s Physics | Five Moons RPG

  12. Pingback: Project Pentagon: The Leveling “Sweet Spot” | Five Moons RPG

  13. Pingback: Learning Spells vs. Learning Fighting Styles | Five Moons RPG

Leave a Reply

