RIP Kim Mohan

Designer Stephen Radney-MacFarland, designer Rob Schwalb, author James Lowder, designer Skip Williams, Kim Mohan, Pamela Mohan, editor Sue Weinlein at GaryCon

My friend and colleague Kim Mohan passed away today at age 73.

I met him when I joined TSR. He was one of the TSR people whose names I recognized[1], so getting to talk to him in person was a cool thing.

When Wizards of the Coast bought TSR, he and I were part of the group of people who migrated to Washington State to keep working on D&D. He was the developer on Slavers (and he is the one who brought to my attention the “ask-me-in-ten-years secret story” mentioned in that link). And managing editor of the 3e Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting. And of course he edited and managing-edited about a zillion other things, including the 3E and 3.5 core books, 4E D&D, Amazing Stories magazine, and some 5E stuff. And he designed the 1E AD&D Wilderness Survival Guide, the Cyborg Commando RPG, and more.

But for the most part, to me, he was just Kim. Tall, older guy, silver hair, beard. Soft-spoken, deep voice, dryly funny. Liked to jokingly tell me, “Get a haircut, you hippie!”[2] His name was sometimes a litmus test to see if someone name-dropping him actually knew him or not.[3]

After I left Wizards, I moved around for a few years for work, and eventually came back to Washington. Kim and his wife Pamela had been organizing the monthly “TSR alumni” get-togethers at the AFK Tavern, which is where I got the opportunity to hang out with him socially. And then COVID-19 happened, and we stopped doing in-person events like that, and unfortunately that means I hadnt seen him in person in a few years.

I’ll miss him. My sympathies to Pamela and Kim’s family.

Kim, whatever sort of afterlife there is, I hope they have cool jackets and smoke breaks, you deserve to chill and rest on your laurels.

[1] Kim was the editor/editor-in-chief of Dragon Magazine when I first got into AD&D, so I saw his name a lot as I crawled through all of the back issues from the late 70s and early 80s.

[2] Because even back in my TSR days, I shaved my head, so calling me a hippie (implying “long-haired”) is funny.

[3] A lot of people who didnt know him in person assumed that “Kim Mohan,” is a woman. So if someone ever said, “Well, I was at a Gen Con seminar with Kim Mohan, and she said blah blah blah,” we would know they were lying (Same thing happens with Tracy Hickman, BTW.)

One thought on “RIP Kim Mohan

  1. I am so sorry for the design community that Kim has left us. I met him during the 4E period, when I was working for D&D Insider (the digital 4E version of Dragon and Dungeon magazines). Kim contacted a bunch of DDI authors and offered to meet with any of us at Gen Con. He invited us to bring prior projects and seek advice. I took him up on it, and he spent a half hour with me, of his own convention time, to give me advice on why a submitted article had not been accepted and what kind of revisions would have made a difference. He met with many other writers that weekend. He had not need to do this. He just wanted to help us be better writers and designers. Incredible. I am so thankful that he was a positive impact on so many creators.

Leave a comment